Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

Guy in Iraq here
randomguy123 Offline
#1 Posted : Monday, November 30, 2009 9:15:56 AM(UTC)
Groups: Member

Hello all! First, I'd like to thank rugrag for creating not only this forum, but a very helpful website. The valuation tool is particularly helpful.

I'm a contractor working for the US Army in Iraq, and I have found a few merchants at one of the nearby posts who sell what they claim to be authentic Persian rugs. I've been working on educating myself about rugs, and from what I know so far, these rugs seem to indeed be authentic. For example, they are prayer rug size - about 3' x 5', silk on silk/silk on wool, very thin pile (sometimes with raised patterns in the pile) obviously hand-made, at least 500kpsi (one merchant told me a rug I was looking at was 1100kpsi, but I did not verify this), most have signatures at the bottom w/Iranian flags, the colors are generally very vibrant, the patterns very intricate, and to my unseasoned eyes, they appear to be very high quality. Of the rugs I asked about, the merchants also claimed the dyes used were vegetable, but I have no idea how to judge this for myself.

These merchants are asking anywhere from $1,000 to $2500 for these rugs. My problem is that there don't seem to be many similar rugs for sale on the internet that I can use for comparison purposes, so I cannot verify whether their asking prices are reasonable or not. Their prices certainly seem reasonable, but, of course, that does not necessarily mean they are reasonable.