Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

Kashan Carpets - out of favour?
Ghex Offline
#1 Posted : Monday, May 5, 2008 11:30:48 PM(UTC)
Groups: Member

Hi all,

I'm fairly new at the carpet business. I have a couple of hand made carpets, including some sot of afgan-looking small runner, and a large red kashan. Now the kashan is in my family room, it's a large carpet (around 10x13). I bought it new, it was (still is, but that's not the point) in excellent condition, seemingly good wool, 144kpsi. I'm looking to buy some additional carpets (and it seems that with the help of the guys here, I'll be doing just that).

One interesting thing I came across when talking to the dealers it's the apparent dismissal of the kashans. Because I got this kashan for a pretty good price, I try to use that as a benchmark of pricing for the dealers. So, whenever I go for a dealer, I ask what price they would sell something similar to me. Everybody says they are really cheap carpets, readily available, and everybody would be able to give me a great deal on them. Of course, this is when I am interested in different carpets.

So I guess I'm trying to understand where do kashan carpets sit in the scheme of things? Are they our of fashion, cheap, easy to find, any good?

I'd be interested in your opinions on this.

Thanks.
Sponsor  

Love the Rug Rag Forums?

Register above, then purchase a monthly Forum Pass for Full Access

RugPro Offline
#2 Posted : Tuesday, May 6, 2008 4:34:16 AM(UTC)

Groups: Administration, Dealers, Member