Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

Rug value?
Ghex Offline
#1 Posted : Sunday, April 6, 2008 6:21:35 PM(UTC)
Groups: Member

Hello,

I'm not sure whether this is the best forum to post this question, but I'll give it a try.

I'm just beginning to collect carpets. I have a couple of them, and currently looking for a new one for one part of the lounge. However, I visited this new dealer in town, and saw a nice runner for my front hallway. It's a Jaunty Co Inc Coronal Red 4x12 as shown here: http://www.jauntyinc.com...designs.asp?DesignID=65
It's not a "real" carpet in the sense that it is hand-tufted rather than hand-woven, but it is 100% wool. However - and I realize the purists may argue with this - I'm considering buying this as the hallway gets a fair amount of traffic, and I can't bear the thought of laying an oriental carpet there yet.

Now my biggest problem is what would be a fair price for this carpet? I've seen opinions ranging from valuing a hand-tufted carpet as low as a machine-made carpet, while others seem to hold them in higher regard. Any suggestions?

Thanks.
Sponsor  

Love the Rug Rag Forums?

Register above, then purchase a monthly Forum Pass for Full Access

RugPro Offline
#2 Posted : Sunday, April 6, 2008 6:40:14 PM(UTC)

Groups: Administration, Dealers, Member

Great question and welcome to the forum, you're in the right place!