Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

Fair Value for 1970s Persian Kashan
DiderotsGhost Offline
#1 Posted : Friday, May 28, 2010 9:00:51 PM(UTC)
Groups: Member

I'm trying to get a sense of what a fair valuation (ballpark estimate) for a particular 1970s hand knotted Persian Kashan carpet. It is 11'6" X 8'3, made from 100% wool, and I believe it is 120 kpi (but I can find no explicit number given). Here is the URL:http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/711-53200-19255-0/1?icep_ff3=2&pub=5574716523&toolid=10001&campid=5336111917&customid=Forum&icep_item=180449032149&ipn=psmain&icep_vectorid=229466&kwid=902099&mtid=824&kw=lg

Ignore any implied shipping costs (due to free shipping), because the seller lives in my geographic region, so I would be able to pick it up without the seller having to incur shipping. I have actually seen it in person and it looked to be of good quality to me, but I am a novice at this.

My secondary question here is what would be a reasonable range to pay for a newer Persian Kashan with the same sort of stats. Any particular recommended eBay sellers?

Thank you.
Sponsor  

Love the Rug Rag Forums?

Register above, then purchase a monthly Forum Pass for Full Access

huruburu Offline
#2 Posted : Saturday, May 29, 2010 6:11:03 AM(UTC)

As I said, I'm a relative newbie too.
But I'm a teacher + always eager to pass the knowledge on!
You can take what I say with salt to taste!
Most kashans in this price range will be kashan-style, made in Ardakan. 120 kpsi / knots per square inch, might also indicate Ardakan, though I can't be sure of that, as I think some older rugs are more likely to have low kpsi. You can also tell by the colors how old the rug is likely to be, as different mustards and olives, etc are typical of certain decades. The experts may help you out here.