Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

Malayer + others
kalyxcarpet Offline
#1 Posted : Friday, August 14, 2009 7:39:35 AM(UTC)
Groups: Member

Hi - I have been lurking in these forums for a few days now and appreciate its existence and the contributions you folks make. I am new to the wonders of persian rugs but must say i'm in it for the uniqueness and eye candy that persian rugs bring to a room, not for investment or collecting purposes. I also must say that i appreciate the character that wear and tear, and even color bleeding, offers, so long as the rugs fit my very small budget. I say all this because I am certain the rugs I am about to ask about might well be considered substandard by many, but I like not having to worry about how hard we might be on them, and for the size they seem comparable in price to the polycrylic wonders at a chain discount store. I have been an ebay fool as of late, scouring the site for the perfect impefect rug. Okay, nuff bout me, let me introduce you to the rugs I wanted to talk about...

a) Rugs already purchased:

Pigpen
Huey Kabluey

b) Rugs got away or I just plain like and am considering bidding on

Robofern
Sonofagun

My questions....

1) Even though I am very happy with what I picked, I could use the education that you all can provide. Did I pay too much, could I have gotten similar styles and sizes of better quality for not much more? Were these listed accurately?

2) Pigpen turned out to be a very, VERY dusty rug! If Pigpen is any indication, I am expecting Huey Kabluey will need a thorough cleaning, at least a de-dirting. Most of the rug cleaners in my area seem to use a wet process, and really I think I might be happy if somebody just beat the crap out of the rugs to get out all that fine particulate matter. But I wanted to know what you guys thought. I came across a cleaner here who told me they offer several different options for rug cleaning: