Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

Painted, Chalked and Markered Rugs
RugPro Offline
#1 Posted : Sunday, April 6, 2008 9:54:56 AM(UTC)

Groups: Administration, Dealers, Member

KrowGyrl,

I'm very interested to know about some of the purchases you've made on eBay. Please share your experiences in regards to the condition of these rugs.

More specifically, have you noted on the face of these rugs painted, dyed or markered areas to disguise wear? How about moth damage and dry rot?

Sponsor  

Love the Rug Rag Forums?

Register above, then purchase a monthly Forum Pass for Full Access

KrowGyrl Offline
#2 Posted : Sunday, April 6, 2008 10:53:48 AM(UTC)

Groups: Dealers, Member

These are areas that I am still learning about. Your pictures did not load completely on my computer. I'll check back later and see if I can see them. I have not found much that I was not expecting. To be honest, the painting, that is new to me. I have not seen anything that looks like what you describe, the halo effect or the avoided areas. Those are pretty obvious and when I have gone over my new arrivals I would have noticed that as it is clearly not part of the normal weaving pattern. I would say I have bought 95% of my carpets on ebay from three sellers. And they all offer several photos of the rugs including individual shots of problem areas. So I have steered clear of a lot, and not been disappointed from any I have gotten from them. They have all been Good. The bad and the ugly, no uglies really, but the bads all came when I bought from individual buyers. One came and had a whole chunk missing from a veru promionent place. First she had sent me the wrong rug, then when it came, there was a shewed hole in it. That could be moth damage. It is halfway between a kilim and a flatweave. So it got recycled into "home decor" for my house. The other one was the thing I showed yesterday, the golden yellow with the black diamonds. He claims to be a store in California. I thin