Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

luxurybound
luxurybound Offline
#1 Posted : Wednesday, August 21, 2013 11:15:31 PM(UTC)
Groups: Member

i've been looking at nain rugs. this one is 10x13 and i've been told this is made by traditional nain weavers and not in the suburbs in higher production ways made for export. i'd appreciate a sense of its value and any questions i should ask as I'm new to this. thank you
luxurybound attached the following image(s):
rug1.jpg
rug2.jpg
rug3.jpg
rug4.jpg
rug5.jpg
rug6 copy.jpg
Sponsor  

Love the Rug Rag Forums?

Register above, then purchase a monthly Forum Pass for Full Access

Little-Persia Offline
#2 Posted : Thursday, August 22, 2013 7:42:01 AM(UTC)

Groups: Dealers, Member

Looks like a 9Laa standard production quality Nain.
Sharafi & Co Offline
#3 Posted : Thursday, August 22, 2013 2:47:17 PM(UTC)

With all due respect to Little Persia I think it is from Tabas not Nain. But the outlines are quite crisp and fine. If you are buying it from a shop it should be around $250 a meter and if from an auction around $100 a meter. That is Square meter by the way. If Little Persia is right then it is worth more than that.
First Floor, unit 9
1 Chandos Road
London NW10 6NF
UK
www.sharafiandco.com
luxurybound Offline
#4 Posted : Thursday, August 22, 2013 10:05:28 PM(UTC)

thank you for your replies. i'll ask more questions but have been told it is from nain and that some of the others i looked at were from outside of nain (tabas presumably). if tabas, sounds like price should be $3K. How much more is it worth if nain? thank you
Little-Persia Offline
#5 Posted : Friday, August 23, 2013 4:37:28 AM(UTC)

It is either a low (in relative terms) Nain or a good quality Tabbas.
luxurybound Offline
#6 Posted : Friday, August 23, 2013 10:39:03 AM(UTC)

i am told it is nain, not tabas and 200 kpsi, 9 laa.
Little-Persia Offline
#7 Posted : Friday, August 23, 2013 11:01:50 AM(UTC)

luxurybound